Delta Sigma Theta Sorority was founded in 1913 by 22 students at Howard University. These young women wanted to use their collective strength to promote academic excellence; to provide scholarships; to provide support to the underserved; educate and stimulate participation in the establishment of positive public policy; and to highlight issues and provide solutions for problems in their communities.
Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. is a private, not-for-profit organization whose purpose is to provide assistance and support through established programs in local communities throughout the world. Since its founding, more than 200,000+ women have joined the organization. The major programs of the Sorority are based upon the organization’s Five Point Programmatic Thrust.
The Akron Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. was later founded in 1960.
  • Grey LinkedIn Icon
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Google+ Icon

President - Lori Alamin

First Vice-President - Mary Outley-Kelly

Second Vice President - Kendra Wilson

For more information, visit our national website at
For more information, visit the
Midwest Region’s Website at